Discover what our guests are saying about their stay at Devon Country Barns.

Upfront reviews is a verified reviews system connected to our booking system. The guest reviews below are a selection of reviews from both Upfront Reviews and TripAdvisor.

A gem of a place!
Stayed April 2018

Having just returned from a few days away in Devon and specifically at Devon Country Barns, I can honestly say how happy the stay has made us. After a difficult few months, time away from home was so welcomed and to do it in such a setting was truly wonderful. We stayed in Apple House which is beautiful, perfectly placed to overlook the lovely countryside all around the Barns especially from the comfort of the hot tub! We were incredibly lucky to experience the best weather of 2018 so far and we took full advantage to both explore the magnificent surroundings and also enjoy the cottage to the full. Both Ute and Richard are as welcoming hosts as you can get and their hospitality is second to none. We can’t wait for our next visit!

Another wonderful week!
Stayed April 2018

There is never anything other than positives to say about this gorgeous place. We holiday here three or four times each year and our stay is always delightful. All of the barns are stunning and the hospitality is second to none. We will be back again in the Autumn!

The quality and care is unbeatable
Stayed May 2018

Just come back from 4 fabulous nights in Meadow Barn, with our two Flatcoats. We never go anywhere twice: there’s too much of the world to see! But we returned after our first visit last year and will go again next. It’s that good. The quality of the barns, of the furnishings, and the care and attention to detail that Richard and Ute put into their property is first class. And when you add the beautiful countryside, including the steam at the bottom of the meadow, you have a perfect getaway for you and your dogs.

Will return!
Stayed July 2018

We stayed in Meadow barn for four nights as a mini-moon and had a wonderful stay. Meadow barn was excellent value and presents as a superb, well equipped and exceptionally clean barn conversion for two. We brought our greyhound Tom who loved having so many walks so close by! Excellent place for dog owners as there are even kennels on site and lots of space for dogs to walk and run. The hot tub was also spotlessly clean and well maintained, perfect for relaxing under the stars and a lovely outdoor snug with seating and heater is perfect to make the most of the lovely meadow views. We had a lovely stay and will definitely be recommending to friends and family!

Fantastic
Stayed October 2018

We hired 3 of the cottages for my daughters 40th birthday with 6 dogs, 3 children under 5 and 8 adults, it worked so well. Plenty of room to get together in the tractor barn. The cottages themselves are amazing, so clean and of a very high standard. The welcome by the owners second to none, perfect, friendly and very accommodating. We will return. Thank you.

Gorgeous – Tractor Barn
Stayed January 2019

I’ve stayed here three times with my family and each time has been wonderful. We always get a warm welcome and the barn is always clean and well-kept. We stayed in the Tractor Barn each time and I’m extremely fond of it. The rooms and beds are really comfy and the wood fire upstairs is especially nice on a cold autumnal night. It isn’t far from places of interest and it has a really nice hot tub. Dogs are also welcome (our dog loves it).

AmandaOR, Horsham
Stayed August 2014

We stayed in Cow Barn as a family of four plus one dog. We arrived later than expected, by which time Ute and Richard had unpacked our online grocery shopping and even taken delivery of a new mobile phone for my elder son. The barn was really well kitted out, with lots of extras you would normally expect to provide yourselves – for example, towels (for the bathroom and for the hot tub), toilet roll, hand soap, tea, coffee, even a good selection of DVDs for the DVD player. The setting for the barns is great, with surrounding fields all open for guests to explore. We particularly liked the large field with a picnic area adjacent to the river. We loved the hot tub and the very comfy beds! We did have a problem with the boiler midweek, but this was quickly resolved. The location of the barns is good for exploring The north and the south coasts of Devon/Cornwall and for accessing Dartmoor. The barn was well stocked with leaflets and maps of places to visit nearby. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Devon Country Barns. Our dog was exhausted by all the exercise! but Ute assured us that this was normal! We would definitely recommend this place!

Morgan’s P
Stayed October 2014

Just spent half term at Apple House, the barn has everything you need and everything is of an exceptionally high standard. Great location for exploring Devon and Cornwall, fantastic for the “hunter-gatherer” lots of farm shops and lovely towns near by. Picturesque country side literally on your doorstep, and after a hard day you can relax in your own private hot tub!! The owners have a vast amount of knowledge on the area and activities and nothing is too much trouble, would recommend to anyone seeking that perfect location in this part of the country.

Nevaps, Bristol
Stayed October 2014

We have just spent a wonderful half-term week at Tractor Barn. We loved the place – and Missy the dog enjoyed the freedom of the fields and the early morning swim in the river. Richard and Ute are wonderful hosts and have created a lovely country holiday experience. The quality of the accommodation can’t be faulted and there are nice little touches that make the barn a ‘home from home’. We enjoyed exploring this area of Devon/Cornwall and took in a number of National Trust attractions (Lydford Gorge was amazing), some horse riding across the moor, and some good local pubs.
A lovely break and huge smiles all round.

Paul G
Stayed November 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Meadow Barn and cannot over emphasize how lovely this whole experience is. From the heart felt welcome to the final fond farewell – we were delighted. The surrounding countryside, in it’s newly acquired autumnal colours, is stunning and a trip across the near border into Cornwall with its rugged coastline is a must. Ute and Richard are the perfect hosts although they wouldn’t allow us to bring away their dog “Scrumpy” with whom we fell in love from the outset. There ought to be a rating above excellent for this place – perhaps it should be FABULOUS !

Mandysevenoakskent, Sevenoaks
Stayed November 2014

We have just returned from our second trip to these fantastic barns, made even more special with the addition of a hot tub – just what you need after walking miles over Dartmoor. Our dog Oscar had the time of his life with long walks and swimming everyday . We stayed in Orchard Barn which is fabulous, so cosy yet so special. All immaculately maintained inside and outside.
Thank you for making your barns so special, we look forward to returning soon.

Alexa201401, London
Stayed November 2014

This place is a little gem – not sure where to start.
The owners are lovely, the grounds are amazing and plentiful, the views are magnificent and the cottages are just excellent.
We stayed in Apple House over a long weekend. The house was spotless on arrival – we had scones, clotted cream and jam waiting for us on our arrival. The barn was extremely cosy, and the wood burning fire made it even more so.
Hot tub on the patio was v easy to use, and made the weekend away that bit better.
Location is also brilliant – not far from Dartmoor and in reasonable driving distance of some of Cornwall’s best beaches.

hants52015, Fareham
Stayed December 2014

Just returned from a 4 night new year break in Tractor Barn and had a fabulous time. The barn is one of the most comfortable places we’ve stayed in…beautifully renovated and really high spec. The owners, Richard and Ute, seem to have thought of everything. Even when the weather outside was really frosty, the barn was amazingly warm and cosy with a great log burner and underfloor heating throughout. We had a really warm welcome from the owners with fresh cake and wine and they saved the day by helping with our car trouble. Add that to the amazing hot tub (our son particularly enjoyed the lights!) and stunning views and we couldn’t have asked for more. Would definitely recommend the barns and hope to return at some point.

Andrew R
Stayed December 2014

We have just returned from a Zairean over New Year, we stayed in Orchard barn which was perfect. The barn was lovely and cosy with the underfloor heating and wood burner, and we were welcomed with scones, jam and cream when we arrived. We saw the New Year in sat in the hot tub which was perfect. Will definitely visit againxxx

Pixanne, Surrey
Stayed May 2013

We have stayed at Devon Country Barns six times over the last three years and have always been met with a warm welcome. The barns are beautiful. We’ve stayed in both Apple House and Tractor Barn and the finish in both is excellent. They’re well kitted out with all you need for your stay. We can’t recommend the barns highly enough and will be back again year after year!

KirstyEmery, Bristol
Stayed Dec 2014

We stayed in Orchard Barn in December for my birthday and what a treat it was! Easy to get to from Bristol and easy to find. A relaxed check in with home made biscuits and mince pies waiting for us, was such a nice touch. The owners were friendly and left us to it which was perfect for a romantic escape. The hot tub was amazing with great sunset views across the countryside and we were lucky enough to enjoy a meteor shower one evening! It really was a perfect weekend. Thank you so much!

29Astrid, Munich
Stayed Dec 2014

Returning to a place is always a good sign, isn’t it? After having spent a fabulous Autumn holiday in Orchard Barn in September 2013 we have now had just perfect Christmas and New Year holidays at Meadow Barn – and it is already booked for this year! We had brilliant weather for fantastic coastal walks with our dog. We found the most heartwarming hosts for the most wonderful time of the year. And we will be back. There is no more to say 🙂

Tegan S, Bristol
Stayed Jan 2015

A much needed couple of days away was needed for my partner and I. The Cowbarn was perfect with heated flooring and every mod con right down to a great selection of Dvds. Ute offered a warm welcome and couldn’t do enough for us. Taking the dog was lovely and he had a great time. The hot tub was incredibly, staying hot for ages and loads of towels were provided. We will be back.